Session Speakers

A. Crop germplasm and evolution

A1 - Collecting and ex situ/in situ conservation

Kevin Pixley, Director of the Genetic Resources Program, CIMMYT, Mexico (Chair, K.Pixley@cgiar.org)
Shumin Wang, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China (Chair, wangshumin@caas.cn)
Jochen Christoph Reif, Leibniz Institute of Plant Genetics and Crop Plant Research (IPK), Germany
Marília Lobo Burl, Embrapa, Brazil

 

A2 - Origin, domestication, and dispersal

Kenneth M. Olsen, Washington University, USA (Chair, kolsen@wustl.edu)
Qijian Song,USDA-ARS, USA (Chair, Qijian.Song@ARS.USDA.GOV)
Peter L. Morrell, University of Minnesota, USA
Lijuan Qiu, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China
Matthew B. Hufford, Iowa State University, USA
Wenbin Li, Northeast Agricultural University, China

 

A3 - Germplasm evaluation and exchange

Jaradat Abdullah, USDA-ARS, USA (Chair, abdullah.jaradat@ars.usda.gov)
Zongwen Zhang, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China (Chair, zhangzongwen@caas.cn)
Xuxiao Zong, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China
Jianbing Yan, Huazhong Agricultural University, China

 

A4 - Unlocking the gene banks and pre-breeding

Roberto Tuberosa, University of Bologna, Italy (Chair, Roberto.tuberosa@unibo.it)
Xueyong Zhang, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China (Chair, zhangxueyong@caas.cn)
Peter Langridge, University of Adelaide, Australia
Tianzhen Zhang, Nanjing Agricultural University, China
Guangmin Xia, Shandong University, China
Kenneth L. McNally, IRRI, Philippines
Xiue Wang, Nanjing Agricultural University, China
Gil Ronen, The NRGene Company, Israel
Yiping Tong, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

 

B. Crop genetics and genomics

B1 - Comparative and evolutionary genomics

Scott Jackson, University of Georgia, USA (Chair, sjackson@uga.edu)
Shengyi Liu, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China (Chair, liusy@oilcrops.cn)
Jeffrey L. Bennetzen, Univerisity of Georgia, USA
Ian Bancroft, University of York, UK
Caroline Pont, National Institute for Agricultural Research (INRA), France

 

B2 - Genetic analysis of quantitative traits

Albrecht E. Melchinger, University of Hohenheim, Germany (Chair, melchinger@uni-hohenheim.de)
Jiankang Wang, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China (Chair, wangjiankang@caas.cn)
Jason G. Wallace, The University of Georgia, USA
José Crossa, CIMMYT, Mexico
Greg Rebetzke, CSIRO Agriculture Flagship, Australia
Alain Charcosett, National Institute for Agricultural Research (INRA), France

 

B3 - Sequencing and analysis of crop genomes

Rod A. Wing, University of Arizona, USA (Chair, rwing@mail.arizona.edu)
Long Mao, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China (Chair, maolong@caas.cn)
Sanwen Huang, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China
Xianmin Diao, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China
Jirui Wang, Sichuan Agricultural University, China
Takao Komatsuda, National Institute of Agrobiological Sciences, Japan
Jérôme Salse, French National Institute for Agricultural Research, France
Joshua A. Udall, Brigham Young University, USA
Hongqing, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

 

B4 - Functional genomics and phenomics

Martin A.J. Parry, Lancaster Environment Centre, Lancaster University, UK (Chair, m.parry@lancaster.ac.uk)
Nicholas Paul Harberd FRS, University of Oxford, UK (Chair, nicholas.harberd@plants.ox.ac.uk)
Chunming Liu, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China (Chair, cmliu@ibcas.ac.cn)
William Paul Quick, IRRI, Philippines
Richard A. James, CSIRO Agriculture, Australia
Zhixi Tian, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Jie Luo, Huazhong Agricultural University, China
Haichun Jing, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

 

C. Crop biotechnology

C1 - Crop gene cloning

James L. Weller, University of Tasmania, Australia (Chair, jim.weller@utas.edu.au)
Chengcai Chu , Chinese Academy of Sciences, China (Chair, ccchu@genetics.ac.cn)
Keke Yi, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China
Zengyan Zhang, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China
Yimiao Tang, Beijing Academy of Agricultural and Forestry Sciences, China
Hailong An, Shandong Agriculture University, China

 

C2 - Tissue culture and crop genetic transformation

Baohong Zhang, East Carolina University, USA (Chair, zhangb@ecu.edu)
Haibo Wang, Hebei Academy of Agricultural and Forestry Sciences, China (Chair, nkywanghb@163.com)
Fanjiang Kong, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Huixia Shou, Zhejiang University, China
Xingguo Ye, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China

 

C3 - Transgenic crop plants

Guoying Wang, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China (Chair, wangguoying@caas.cn)
Degang Zhao, Guizhou University, China (Chair, dgzhao@gzu.edu.cn)
Xianzhong Feng, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Ming Chen, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China

 

C4 - Crop genome editing and other technologies

Jinshegn Lai, China Agricultural University, China (Chair, jlai@cau.edu.cn)
James Radtke, Cibus, USA (Chair, kari@rosengrouppr.com)
Zhesi He, University of York, UK
Kejian Wang, China National Rice Research Institute, China
Qijun Chen, China Agricultural University, China

 

D. Breeding and seed production

D1 - Yield and quality

Matthew P. Reynolds, CIMMYT, USA (Chair, M.REYNOLDS@CGIAR.ORG)
Aimin Zhang, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China (Chair, amzhang@genetics.ac.cn)
Xiangdong Fu, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Wujun Ma, Murdoch University, Australia

 

D2 - Biotic and abiotic stresses

Rajeev Varshney, CRICAT, India (Chair, r.k.varshney@cgiar.org)
Yunbi Xu, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China (Chair, xuyunbi@caas.cn)
Pervez Haider Zaidi, CIMMYT, Mexico

 

D3 - Induced mutations for crop improvement

Rusli B. Ibrahim, Malaysian Nuclear Agency, Malaysia (Chair, rusli.anm@gmail.com)
Luxiang Liu, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China (Chair, Liuluxiang@caas.cn)
Abdelbagi M. A. Ghanim, International Atomic Energy Agency, Austria
Abdulwahid Saif, Agricultural Research& Extension Authority (AREA), Yemen
Rosa Angélica Sánchez Díaz, National Institute of Agricultural Innovation, Peru

 

D4 - Hybrid development and seed production

Jochen Christoph Reif, Leibniz Institute of Plant Genetics and Crop Plant Research, Germany (Chair, reif@ipk-gatersleben.de)
Huabang Chen, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China (Chair, hbchen@genetics.ac.cn)
Usha Zehr, Maharashtra Hybrid Seeds Company Ltd, India (Keynote speaker)
Yaoguang Liu, South China Agricultural University, China
Dong Ding, Henan Agricultural University, China

 

E. Agronomy and crop physiology

E1 - Plant nutrition and efficient utilization

Michael A Grusak, USDA/ARS Children's Nutrition Research Center, USA (Chair, mike.grusak@ars.usda.gov)
Xiaobing Liu, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China (Chair, liuxb@iga.ac.cn)
Rubén Rellán Álvarez , National Laboratory of Genomics for Biodiversity, CINVESTAV, Mexico
Shawn Kaeppler, University of Wisconsin, USA

 

E2 - Photosynthesis and nitrogen fixation

Jerry Nelson, University of Missouri, USA (Chair, nelsoncj@missouri.edu)
Ming Zhao, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China (Chair, zhaoming@caas.cn)
Jianhua Zhang,The Chinese University of Hong Kong, China
Congming Lu, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Thomas R. Sinclair, North Carolina State University, USA

 

E3 - High-yield and high-efficient crop production

Shaobing Peng, Huazhong Agricultural University, China (Chair, speng@mail.hzau.edu.cn)
Shawn Kaeppler, University of Wisconsin, USA (Chair, smkaeppl@wisc.edu)
Xiaobing Liu, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Peng Hou, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Sam Trachsel, CIMMYT, Mexico
Valentin D. Picasso,University of Wisconsin–Madison, USA

 

E4 - Farming system and mechanization

Martin Kropff, CIMMYT, Mexico (Chair, m.kropff@cgiar.org)
Xu Cheng, China Agricultural University, China (Chair, zhu1286@126.com)
Dongxing Zhang, China Agricultural University, China
John P. Fulton, The Ohio State University, USA
Zongjun Cui, China Agricultural University, China

 

F. Climate change and sustainability

F1 - Abiotic stresses and crop responses

Yamaguchi-Shinozaki Kazuko, University of Tokyo, Japan (Chair, akys@mail.ecc.u-tokyo.ac.jp)
Feng Qin, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China (Chair, qinfeng@ibcas.ac.cn)
Yusaku Uga,National Institute of Agrobiological Sciences(NIAS), Japan
Qixin Sun, China Agricultural University, China

 

F2 - Global warming and crop adaptation

Shujin Hu, North Carolina State University, USA (Chair, shuijin_hu@ncsu.edu)
Kent O. Burkey, USDA-ARS Plant Physiologist, Plant Science Research Unit, USA (Chair, Kent.Burkey@ars.usda.gov)
Sun-Hee Woo, Chungbuk National University, Republic of Korea (Chair, shwoo@chungbuk.ac.kr)
Weijian Zhang, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China (Chair, zhangweijian@caas.cn)
Zhaozhong Feng, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China (Chair, zhzhfeng201@hotmail.com)
Sakagami Jun-Ichi, kagoshima University, Japan (Chair, sakagami@agri.kagoshima-u.ac.jp)

 

F3 - Sustainable agricultural intensification

Achim Dobermann, Rothamsted Research, UK (Chair, achim.dobermann@rothamsted.ac.uk)
Xinping Chen, China Agricultural University, China (Chair, chenxp@cau.edu.cn)

 

G. Crop quality and processing

Wolfgang H. Pffeier, HarvestPlus Challenge Programme and International Center for Tropical
Agriculture (CIAT-HarvestPlus), Colombia (Chair, w.pfeiffer@cgiar.org)
Zhonghu He, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China (Chair, hezhonghu02@caas.cn)
Guixing Ren, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China (Chair, renguixing@caas.cn)

 

H. Crop production and socioeconomic aspects

Diana Marais, University of Pretoria, South Africa (Chair, Diana.marais@up.ac.za)
Yijun Han, China Agricultural University, China (Chair, hyjcau@126.com)

 

I. Science & Technology Innovation and Seed Industry

Chair:
Shiping Zhang (Da Bei Nong Group),
Junhua Peng (China Seed Group)
Speaker:
Fasong Zhou, Vice General Director of China Seed Life Science and Technology Center, China
TBD, Foreign executives of Basf Inc.
Ning Zhu, SIPO Hubei General Director of Examination, China
Shirong Jia, Researcher of Institute of Biotechnology, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China

 

J. World soybean genomics workshop

Junyi Gai, Nanjing Agricultural University, China (Chair, sri@njau.edu.cn)
Henry Nguyen, University of Missouri, USA (Chair, nguyenhenry@missouri.edu)
Honming Lam, University of Missouri, USA
Francois Belzile, Université Laval, Canada
Eva Yu, Novogene, China
Andrew James, CSIRO, Australia